School of Journalism & Electronic Media

COLLEGE OF COMMUNICATION & INFORMATION -- Enduring Standards, Evolving Media

Recent Graduate Accepts Position With the Today Show

Recognizing the success of our recent graduates and alumni is something valued by the School of Journalism and Electronic Media. A recent 2014 graduate, Mary Catherine Suhocki, has accepted a position with the Today Show and begins this amazing opportunity on Monday, November 17. She will be working with the Today Show's social media team in the Orange Room, a well known set on the show. She joins Brooke Fraser, a 2012 graduate, who also currently holds a position at the Today Show.

Mary Catherine completed internships at WBIR-TV, and two at CNN - one in Atlanta and the other in New York. She was a recipient of the Scripps Howard Foundation Fellowship in the summer of 2013, and was an excellent student. Both Mary Catherine and Brooke were among those who went on the New York trip provided each year by Dr. Sam Swan.  

According to Dr. Swan, the School of Journalism and Electronic Media has a growing number of graduates who have moved and are now working in New York. 

Profile on Medal of Honor Recipient Highlighted in Longreads

Knoxville had the opportunity to hold the Medal of Honor Convention this year in September, where the University of Tennessee was heavily involved, especially the School of Journalism and Electronic Media. Many students played a role in conducting interviews of recipients as well as shooting video of this important event. One student's exceptional profile was just highlighted on a well-respected aggregator of longform journalism.

The profile of Medal of Honor recipient Sammy Davis by R.J. Vogt was chosen as Longreads' Veterans Day week college selection. Each week Longreads chooses five stories (on occasion a college story) to highlight on their blog and send to their enormous email list. In regards to selecting Vogt's profile they said:

Journalism Class Takes a Bite Out of the Big Apple

Dr. Swan and a group of journalism students had the opportunity to travel to New York City this fall from October 14-17 to go behind the scenes and tour the Today Show, Good Morning America, NBC, Fox News, ABC News and The Daily Show just to name a few. These special tours also provided the students with a chance to listen and speak to producers and reporters of these well known shows. 

On the Today Show set, where the group picture above was taken, the students met a School of Journalism and Electronic Media alumus, Brooke Fraser, who works as a research assistant for the show. The tour of Fox News Channel was given by David Winstrom, Director of News Edge, and included Fox News Anchors Jon Scott and Heather Nauert, Producer Trina Thompson, Writing Coach Shelley Stevens, and Senior Producer of News Edge Mykel MacCarthy, as speakers for the class.

Recognizing Achievements

The School of Journalism and Electronic Media recognizes the hard work and commitment by our faculty, staff, and students and congratulates all their achievements.  

Professor Julie Andsager’s article, “Nutrition information in community newspapers: Goal framing, story origins, and topics,” has been published online in Health Communication. Co-authors are Li Chen, Stephanie Miles, Christina Smith (all PhD students in the School of Journalism & Mass Communication at the University of Iowa (UI)), and Faryle Nothwehr, associate professor in the Dept. of Community & Behavioral Health at UI.

Keeping Up with TVC


The Volunteer Channel (TVC) is the student television station here at the University of Tennessee that reaches students both in the residence halls through UT campus cable 12, and residents living in the surrounding counties on Comcast Digital Channel 194. TVC provides information, entertainment, and covers special campus events all while allowing students a chance to experience working in television and related fields in a real-world setting. I had the opportunity to interview two students who work with TVC, Katherine Donnelly and Annie Carr. When asked what they have learned through their work with TVC both said production skills, writing, editing, and becoming familiar with using the equipment. “Absolutely everything I have learned in journalism, I’ve learned from TVC. Sitting in a classroom trying to learn about how to edit is one thing, but being told that you have a VOSOT that needs to make it downstairs to the switcher in five minutes is a whole other story,” says Carr.

CNN Jane Winburn Speaks to Journalism Students

Jane Winbur

On October 13 and 14, Jan Winburn, senior editor for enterprise at CNN Digital, came to the University of Tennessee to speak to journalism students and faculty in two sessions where she urged them to think about stories in new ways. Winburn reminded students that social media has turned news into a product due to its universal presence and immediacy. Using examples of stories from her experience, she showed students different approaches that were effective. One story related 24 hours in the life of the Atlanta Airport, “ATL24,” where more than three-dozen reporters worked on a story that documented the busy and hectic lives of the people in the airport that day.